CAME Awards

CAME Ian Hart Award

Nomination deadline: November 30, 2017

The Award:

Established in 1992 in honor of Dr. Ian Hart, founder of CAME, this award recognizes senior faculty who have made an exceptional contribution to medical education throughout their academic career.

Nomination Requirements

Nominees must be CAME members. The initial nomination must be made by a CAME member. Members currently serving on the CAME Executive, CAME Board of Directors or the CAME Awards Committee are not eligible as nominees. Nominations must be formally resubmitted each year to be considered.

Selection Criteria

The CAME Awards Committee will evaluate candidates based on:

  1. Teaching activities (quantity, breadth, quality, mentorship)
  2. Research activities in medical education (quantity, funds received, quality)
  3. Scientific presentations in medical education (local, provincial, national, and international meetings)
  4. Scientific publications in medical education
  5. Development or implementation of educational innovations (degree of innovation, breadth of the innovations, acting as a catalyst, etc)
  6. Demonstration of leadership in medical education (local, provincial, national and international)
  7. Demonstration of administrative abilities and duties at the local, provincial, national and international levels.
  8. Impact of the candidate's activities (local, provincial, national, and international)

Submission requirements

Submissions must include:

  1. A maximum of three letters of nomination, one from within the nominee's institution and two external (National or International) nomination. Please include as many examples used in the selection criteria as possible.
  2. A letter of support from the person to whom the nominee reports. If this is also the person making the nomination, then an additional letter of support from a senior educational administrator or leader who is aware of the nominee's accomplishments will be accepted.
  3. The nominee's complete curriculum vitae.

Nominees are encouraged to contact their local CAME representative for support in the application process.

Please submit one electronic copy of the nominating documents via email to:(


The award is presented at the CAME Annual Luncheon during the Canadian Conference on Medical Education. The recipient is awarded a commemorative plaque and a prize of $1,000.

Ian Hart Award for Distinguished Contribution to Medical Education: Established in 1992 in honour of Dr. Ian Hart, founder of CAME, this award recognizes senior faculty who have made an exceptional contribution to medical education throughout their academic career. CAME is delighted to present the 2017 Ian Hart Award for Distinguished Contribution to Medical Education to Dr. Joan Sargeant.

Joan Sargeant PhD

Joan Sargeant PhD
Title of Presentation: Where are we heading in medical education?

Joan Sargeant, BN, MEd, PhD is Professor, Division of Medical Education (DME), Faculty of Medicine, Dalhousie University, Halifax. She recently completed her term as Head, DME and prior to that was Director, Program in Health and Medical Education Research, DME, and before that, Director Research and Evaluation, Continuing Professional Development.

Joan is an educator, researcher and administrator who has been engaged in medical education across the continuum. Recently at Dalhousie she has served as a member of the UGME Assessment and Curriculum committees, is actively engaged in promoting competency-based education in PGME, and from the CPD perspective, is active in studying how physicians learn from their practice. In her role as Head, DME, she fostered programs which spanned the continuum, such as communication skills, critical thinking and the humanities, and mentored students, residents and faculty.

In her research, she is particularly interested in understanding the role external data and feedback play in learner development across undergraduate, post-graduate and continuing education, and in promoting continuous learning. Her research program in assessment and feedback explores how learners and physicians are assessed in clinical practice, how they are engaged in feedback discussions, how they assimilate external performance data with their own perceptions of how they're doing, and the opportunities which coaching might offer in enhancing learner and physician ongoing development. Additional areas of research interest include interprofessional education, professionalism, and knowledge translation.

Joan is actively involved in national and international professional committees, and is frequently invited as a visiting scholar by other schools and organizations. Outside of her work, Joan enjoys sailing, gardening, hiking and spending time with family and friends.

Past Recipients
Ian Hart Award for Distinguished Contribution to Medical Education

2017 Dr. Joan Sargeant, Dalhousie University     Photo (jpg)
2016 Dr. Linda Snell, McGill University     Photo (jpg)
2015 Dr. Kevin Imrie, University of Toronto     Photo (jpg)
2014 Dr. Ivan Silver, University of Toronto      Photo (jpg)
2013 Dr. Glenn Regehr, University of British Columbia      Photo (jpg)
2012 Dr. Brian Hodges, University of Toronto      Photo (jpg)
2011 Dr. Yvonne Steinert, McGill University     Photo (jpg)
2010 Dr. Helen Batty, University of Toronto     Photo (jpg)
Dr. Meridith Marks, University of Ottawa     Photo (jpg)
2009 Dr. Jocelyn Lockyer, University of Calgary     Photo (jpg)
2008 Dr. Paul Grand'Maison, Université de Sherbrooke     Photo (jpg)
2007 Dr. Jeffrey Turnbull, University of Ottawa     Photo (jpg)
Dr. Richard Cruess and
Dr. Sylvia Cruess, McGill University     Photo (ppt)
2005 Dr. Dave Davis, University of Toronto
2004 Dr. Peter McLeod, McGill University 
2003  Dr. Gordon Page, University of British Columbia
2002  Dr. Carlos Brailovsky, Université Laval and
Dr. Jean Gray, Dalhousie University
2001 Dr. Wayne Weston, University of Western Ontario
2000 Dr. Jean-Pierre DesGroseilliers, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
1999 Dr. Richard Reznick, University of Toronto
1998 Josephine Cassie, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
Dr. Pierre Jean, University of Ottawa
1997 Dr. Geoff Norman, McMaster University
1996 Dr. Karen Mann, Dalhousie University
1995 Dr. Jacques Des Marchais, Université de Sherbrooke
1994 Dr. Dale Dauphinee, Medical Council of Canada
1993 Dr. Ian Hart, University of Ottawa

Dr. Joan Sargeant, Dalhousie University, 2017 Ian Hart Award recipient