Meridith Marks Award

2018 CAME Award Winner

The CAME Awards Committee, chaired Dr. Brian Simmons, University of Toronto, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2018 Meridith Marks Award.

CAME Meridith Marks New Educator Award: The 2018 Meridith Marks New Educator Award, named in honour of Dr. Meridith Marks, recognizes individuals in the first phase of their professional career who have made a significant contribution to medical education. CAME is delighted to present the 2018 Meridith Marks New Educator Award to Ryan Brydges, University of Toronto.

Joan Sargeant PhD

Ryan Brydges, Ph.D.

Recently, Ryan was awarded the Professorship in Technology-Enabled Education at St. Michael's Hospital (SMH) and the University of Toronto. Concurrent with that new appointment, Ryan is now the Research Director & Scientist at the Allan Waters Family Simulation Centre, SMH. In addition to his roles at SMH, Ryan is an Education Scientist at the Wilson Centre, University Health Network, and an Assistant Professor and Education Scientist in the Department of Medicine, University of Toronto. Ryan earned his PhD at the University of Toronto, and completed his post-doctoral fellowship with the Centre for Health Education Scholarship at the University of British Columbia. He translates his training from the disciplines of Kinesiology and Neuroscience to enhance his research study designs.

Ryan conducts research in three related domains: (i) clarifying how healthcare trainees and professionals manage (through self-regulation) their life-long learning, (ii) understanding how to optimize the instructional design of healthcare simulation (and other technology-enhanced learning modalities) for training and assessment of healthcare professionals (iii) identifying best practices in the training and assessment for bedside invasive medical procedures (e.g., lumbar puncture, central line insertion, thoracentesis). Examples of questions he asks include how trainees prepare for future learning, how they learn to self-monitor effectively (i.e., think about their own thinking), how educators and trainees differ in their conceptions of learning, how validity evidence is collected and organized in assessment of health professionals, and how to design training using educational technologies (e.g., iPad apps, web-based simulators) to enhance learning outcomes.

Ryan teaches in local, regional, national, and international settings, with learners from all stages of training (i.e., undergraduate to graduate students to continuing professional development). For example, he is a part of the 'aster faculty' of two courses offered by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada Practice, Performance, & Innovation Unit. He also serves as an Associate Editor for the journal Advances in Health Sciences Education, and a Senior Editor for the journal Advances in Simulation.

We invite you to join your colleagues at the CAME Awards Luncheon and Lecture on Monday, April 30, 2018 in Halifax to recognize these award winners. Tickets for the CAME Luncheon are available for purchase when you register for CCME 2018 ( Please communicate this news internally to your colleagues and encourage them to join us in congratulating these outstanding individuals for their contribution to Canadian medical education.

Previous Recipients
Meridith Marks New Educator Award (formerly the New Educator/Junior Award)

2017 Dr. Meredith Young, McGill University     Photo
2016 Dr. Tina Martimianakis, University of Toronto     Photo
2015 Pre Christina St-Onge, Ph. D., Université de Sherbrooke     Photo
2014 Ayelet Kuper, MD DPhil, University of Toronto     Photo
2013 Dr Rodrigo Cavalcanti, University of Toronto     Photo
2012 Dre Miriam Lacasse, Université Laval    Photo
2011 Dr. Jonathan Sherbino, McMaster University    Photo
2010 Dr. Tyrone Donnon, University of Calgary    Photo
2009 Dr. Farhan Bhanji, McGill University and
Dr. Mark Goldszmidt, University of Western Ontario
Photo 1 - Dr. Farhan Bhanji
Photo 2 - Dr. Mark Goldzsmidt
2008 Dr. Liane Feldman, McGill University    Photo
2007 Dr. Jason Frank, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
2006   Dr. Kevin Eva, McMaster University    Photo (ppt)
2005 Dr. Pippa Hall, University of Ottawa
2004 Dr. Marcel D'Eon, University of Saskatchewan
2003  Dr. Vernon Curran, Memorial University
2002  Dr. Marianne Xhignesse, Universit√© de Sherbrooke
2001 Dr Kim Blake, Dalhousie University
2000 Ms. Joan Sargeant, Dalhousie University
1999 Dr. Graham Bullock, Dalhousie University
1998 Dr. John MacFadyen, University of Ottawa
1997 Dr. Brian Hodges, University of Toronto