Early Career Medical Educators

Early Career Medical Educators (ECME) is a nation-wide community of engaged and collaborative scholars in medical education. We are students, teachers, researchers, clinicians, and leaders in the pursuit of improving education through scholarship. We provide a forum for networking between members as well as connections with senior colleagues and mentors. This includes formal and informal events at the CCME conference where we gather to share and learn from each other as well as more senior mentors in our field.  Our members are actively contributing to CAME in order to grow and support the community of medical and health professions educators in Canada. To join our list serve, please email Dr. Sayra Cristancho (

Our Executive

Mahan Kulasegaram (University of Toronto) & Tim Dubé (Université de Sherbrooke)

Awards Directors:
Laura Nimmon (UBC) & Sarah Wright (University of Toronto)

Communications Director:
Teresa Chan (McMaster University)

Sarah Burm (Dalhousie)

Alumni Members:
Meredith Young (McGill University), Kelly Dore (McMaster University), Lara Varpio (Uniformed Services University)

ECME also celebrates and recognizes the talents of its members and mentors through the ECME Champion Award and the Mentorship Award. The former recognizes early career researchers with an emerging track record of excellence in medical education and the latter recognizes mentorship and support of junior scholars in the field. Past winners include:


2019: Dr. Sayra Cristancho and Dr. Meredith Vanstone
2018: Dr. Stella Ng
2016: Dr. Rachel Blanchard
2015: Dr. Meredith Young


2019: Dr. Lorelei Lingard
2018: Dr. Joanna Bates
2016: Drs. Maria Mylopoulos, Tina Martimianakis, Nicole Woods
2015: Dr. Glenn Regehr

ECME is pleased to announce the call for 2020 nominations for our two awards.

The Champion and Mentor awards both celebrate contributions to the field of medical education, with an emphasis on the advancement, amplification, support, promotion, and mentorship of medical educators – those who engage in education and education scholarship/research. What differentiates the two awards is the career stage of the awardee.

ECME Champion Award description: an early career medical educator who, through their advocacy, role modelling, and mentorship, advances the growth, success, and recognition of fellow early career medical educators within and beyond their home organization.

ECME Mentor Award description: a mid to senior career faculty member who, through their advocacy, role modelling and mentorship, advances the growth, success, and recognition of early career medical educators across Canada.

Nomination process:
Up to five nomination letters (from different nominators) may be submitted per nominee as a single package; additional nomination letters will not be reviewed. The nominee should be made aware of their nomination (in order to enable a coordinated submission). Each nomination letter should contain: name(s), position(s), organization(s) of nominee(s); a short description (no more than 500 words) of the ways in which your nominee has exemplified the award description. Please aim to use specific examples to highlight your nominee’s excellence at the activities outlined in the award criteria Letter writers should note that all award packages will be shared with nominees, whether they are the successful award winner or not.

Previous recipients/nominees of the Champion award can be nominated for the Mentor award in subsequent years. Previous recipients of the Champion or Mentor awards cannot receive the same award again. Mentor award recipients are ineligible for the Champion award in subsequent years. Previous unsuccessful nominees may be re-nominated in subsequent years.

February 14, 2020, 11:49pm PST. 
Late entries will not be reviewed. Please submit application packages and any questions to:

Awardees will be notified in advance of and honoured at the ECME event of the Canadian Conference on Medical Education, 2020.