CAME Certificate of Merit Award

CAME Certificate of Merit Award

Submision Deadline: December 6, 2019

To promote, recognize and reward faculty committed to medical education in Canadian medical schools. To promote CAME at each of the Canadian medical schools.

The Award
The CAME Certificate of Merit Award consists of a certificate and the opportunity to write an article for the CAME Voice. The number of awards to be given in any year will be determined by the CAME Executive on an annual basis. The initial nomination must be made by a CAME member. Members currently serving on the CAME Executive or CAME Board of Directors are not eligible as nominees. Nominations must be formally resubmitted each year to be considered.

* The CAME Awards Committee has no role in adjudicating the CAME Certificate of Merit Awards. While sponsored by CAME, the Certificate of Merit Awards are adjudicated locally by CAME Board School Representatives and their committees.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. All contributors to medical education in each school are eligible (undergraduate, postgraduate, CME/CPD and Faculty Development). Recipients need not be members of CAME.
  2. Recipients will have made a contribution to medical education deemed to be valuable within their medical school (teaching, assessment, evaluation, educational leadership, course coordination, education, research)
  3. Recipients should not have already been nationally awarded for this contribution.
  4. Members currently serving on the CAME Executive or CAME Board of Directors are not eligible.

Selection Process

  1. CAME requests each CAME Board school representative begin the process via email which will include the submission deadline date.
  2. The local CAME representative will set up a selection committee and a mechanism for identification and selection of candidates from their institution.
  3. The local CAME representative will submit the name(s) of the award winners and their contact information together with a) a brief one paragraph description of achievements AND b) a maximum 280 character comment for each of the awardees. Submissions are to be sent to CAME by School Representatives by completing an online form. The link to this form will be distributed to CAME Board School representatives in September.
  4. CAME will receive and confirm nominations and notify the awardees by email.
  5. The Certificate of Merit Awards will be presented at CAME’s Annual General Meeting at CCME. It is an expectation that the COM awardees will attend  where at all possible.
  6. CAME will acknowledge each recipient on its website and through Twitter.

2019 Certificate of Merit Award Recipients

Dr Maria Hubinette
Dr Adrian Yee
Dr Beth Watt

Dr Fiona Lawson
Dr Anil Walji
Dr Edward Masson

Dr Susan Bannister
Dr Tom Rosenal

Dr Rashmi Bhargava

Dr Larry Tan
Dr Michael Teschuk

Dr Sue Glover Takahashi
Dr Umberin Najeeb
Dr Sophie Soklaridis

Dr Jamie Wickett
Dr Fabiana Caetano Crowley

Dr Andrew Wiens
Dr Michael Hirsh
Dr Christine De Meulemeester

Dr Laura McEwen
Dr Andrew Hall

Dr Joyce Zazulak
Dr Lawrence Grierson
Dr Fiona Smaill

Dr Michèle Morin
Dr Mireille Grégoire
Dr Raymond Thibodeau

Professor Luc Lanthier
Professor Marie-Claude Arsenault
Professor Marianne Coutu

Dr Gail Myhr

Dr Stuart Lubarsky
Dr Fady Mansour

Dr Philippe Karazivan
Dr Lucas Sidéris
Dr Réjean Duplain

Dr Stephen Miller
Dr Mark Bosma