Early Career Medical Educators

Early Career Medical Educators (ECME) is a nation-wide community of engaged and collaborative scholars in medical education. We are students, teachers, researchers, clinicians, and leaders in the pursuit of improving education through scholarship. We provide a forum for networking between members as well as connections with senior colleagues and mentors. This includes formal and informal events at the CCME conference where we gather to share and learn from each other as well as more senior mentors in our field.  Our members are actively contributing to CAME in order to grow and support the community of medical and health professions educators in Canada. To join our list serve, please email Dr. Sayra Cristancho (

Our Executive

Mahan Kulasegaram (University of Toronto) & Tim Dubé (Université de Sherbrooke)

Awards Directors:
Laura Nimmon (UBC) & Sarah Wright (University of Toronto)

Communications Director:
Teresa Chan (McMaster University)

Sarah Burm (Dalhousie)

Alumni Members:
Meredith Young (McGill University), Kelly Dore (McMaster University), Lara Varpio (Uniformed Services University)

ECME also celebrates and recognizes the talents of its members and mentors through the ECME Champion Award and the Mentorship Award. The former recognizes early career researchers with an emerging track record of excellence in medical education and the latter recognizes mentorship and support of junior scholars in the field. Past winners include:


2020: Dr. Laura Nimmon
2019: Dr. Sayra Cristancho and Dr. Meredith Vanstone
2018: Dr. Stella Ng
2016: Dr. Rachel Blanchard
2015: Dr. Meredith Young


2020: Dr. Lara Varpio
2019: Dr. Lorelei Lingard
2018: Dr. Joanna Bates
2016: Drs. Maria Mylopoulos, Tina Martimianakis, Nicole Woods
2015: Dr. Glenn Regehr


ECME Awards – Deadline Extended to February 2, 2021

ECME annually recognizes exceptional individuals in medical and health professions education for their work in growing our community of scholars. We award two awards:

  • ECME Champion Award: an ECME member who gives their time, spirit and energy to the growth, success, and recognition of early career medical educators.
  • ECME Mentor Award: a faculty member who has shown excellence in leadership, generosity of time commitment, and initiative in their efforts as a role model and mentor of the early career medical educators community.

The awards are presented at the Canadian Conference on Medical Education which will be held in the spring of 2021. 

Nomination process:

Up to five nominations (from different nominators) may be submitted per nominee; additional nominations will not be reviewed. The nominee should be made aware of their nomination, so they may connect nominators to one another (in order to enable a more coordinated submission and to (potentially) limit the number of nominations to 5).

Each nomination should contain: 1) name, position, organization of nominee; 2) a short paragraph (no more than 500 words) describing the ways in which your nominee reflects the abovementioned values of the award sought.

The nomination deadline has been extended to February 2, 2021 and should be submitted to


Previous recipients/nominees of the Champion award can be nominated for the Mentor award in subsequent years. Previous recipients of the Champion or Mentor awards cannot receive the same award again. Mentor award recipients are ineligible for the Champion award in subsequent years.